Lester Named to AISGW Board of Trustees

Lester Named to AISGW Board of Trustees

Head of School Malcolm Lester was recently elected to the Board of Trustees of the Association of Independent Schools of Greater Washington.

AISGW represents nearly 80 independent schools educating over 30,000 students in Washington, DC, Maryland, and Virginia, with one AISGW school hailing from Pennsylvania.

The Association functions as a resource and network for the schools and educators within its membership; in addition, AISGW hosts many workshops, conferences, seminars and programs throughout the year. In recent years, NPS faculty and administrators have both attended a variety of AISGW programming and led workshops for the Association.

The Board is comprised of 12 trustees, all Heads of School, who serve renewable three-year terms. Mr. Lester, who started his AISGW service in July, is beginning an initial term that ends in June, 2020.

The other Heads of School on the AISGW Board are from the following schools: National Cathedral School, Potomac, Maret, Georgetown Day School, St. Patrick's, Green Acres, Capitol Hill Day School, Burgundy Farm Country Day, McLean School, The River School, and Congressional.

Mr. Lester serves on the Board's Trustees Committee, as well as the recently formed Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Task Force. The annual AISGW Heads' Conference will be held November 9 and 10 in Middleburg, Virginia.